Sunday, February 12, 2012


Title: Scrumptious
Author: Amanda Usen
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Release Date: January 1, 2012
Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
Copy of book provided by Net Galley

Where you can purchase:
Barnes and Noble

Where you can find the author:

Book Blurb:

Sparks fly between love 'em and leave 'em pastry chef and poker sharp Marlene Bennet and traveling chef-for-hire Joe Rafferty when the two culinary perfectionists are forced to share a kitchen. But several suspicious accidents at the restaurant convince Marlene and Joe to work together to uncover the saboteur. Maybe a little intrigue and high-stakes poker will be the perfect ingredients for these commitment-phobic foodies to whip up a happily ever after.

Book Review:

Fans of Louisa Edwards Rising Star Chef and Recipe For Love series will absolutely LOVE this book. The cooking and sex are downright steamy and things boil over fast between Marly and Joe.

Malene (Marly) Bennett loves everything about restaurant Chameleon, except for the fact that--she will never be its Chef.
Her parents failed marriage leave an emotional scar and major commitment issues for this heroine-the main theme being that men do not stick around. Because of this, Marly decides to do the leaving first. Men are no more than a sexy, fun romp in the bedroom and the sheets never get cold between her lovers.

Joe Rafferty is a traveling Chef, never sticking around in one place too long--and like Marly, is the love 'em and leave 'em type. His two date maximum has provided him with plenty of meaningless sexual adventures.
After the death of his mother, he vows to settle down and stop seeking out the easy lay..."No more sluts, Joe".

Olivia, owner of Chameleon, and Marly's BFF, has had it with her cheating husband, Keith. Not to mention that his cooking skills are sub par. She has decided after catching her man boffing the staff in the walk-in that he must go. And things begin to unravel pretty fast with his departure. Someone is trying to sabotage Chameleon and put Olivia out of business.

Olivia begs her best friend Joe to stick around until she can hire a permanent Chef. Joe agrees to help and then meets his Achilles heel in the form of one very sexual, very attractive Marly. She is a determined woman who knows what she wants--and she wants Joe. His newly sworn vow to avoid any future easy women has flown out the proverbial window.

Things are way hotter in the kitchen at Chameleon's now that Marly and Joe are working together. And what happens when skin meets skin is sizzling HAWT.  There is an instant sexual undertone that the reader can feel when these two characters are in the same room. And more importantly, they are so damn easy to like. 
Amanda Usen has a talent for such vivid description of life behind the scenes of a busy restaurant. I swear, I found myself sweating as the staff worked furiously to put out supurb dishes for their patrons. My mouth watered at all the SCRUMPTIOUS recipes--it made me want to bang out a few meals of my own kitchen (and I loathe to cook).

All in all- I truly enjoyed this light read and will look for more by this talented author.  A culinary piece de resistance!!
4.5 Horny Devils

Look for Amanda Usen's next book, Luscious (Book Two): Expected Release of July 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments...tell me what you thought of my post!

Total Pageviews